Topic: Kenny Florian

Florian Heading to Featherweight Division

Anonymous Mode

You are not logged in to Tapology. When browsing anonymously, profanities and images are automatically removed from the forum.

Gregory
Gregory
  • Predictions:  6,817  |  63.3%
  • Forum Posts:  18,561
  • Post Score: 275

02.07.2011 | 7:49 PM ET

http://sports.espn.go.com/extra/mma/news/story?id=6100420

"I started playing around with the idea: could I make 145? Originally, I didn't think it was possible," Florian. "I spoke with a few nutritionists, got their opinions, told them what my body fat was, my walking-around weight, all that stuff and the general consensus was that it was very possible.

"I put a lot of thought into it, spoke with my coaches and everybody involved and decided that I am going to try it. I'm going to go for it."

At 34 years old, Florian remains focused solely on becoming a UFC champion. He has come up short in two previous title opportunities, and his hopes of a third shot evaporated with the loss to Maynard.

Kawa is confident that Florian, who is ranked among the top 10 lightweights, will get a title shot at 145 sooner rather than later. But Kawa knows his fighter will have to prove himself first.

"I live, I die, I live again."

Kenny "KenFlo" Florian

Photo Source:  

Fighter Details

• Given Name: Kenneth Alan Florian
  • Pro MMA Record: 14-6-0 (Win-Loss-Draw)
  • Nickname: KenFlo
  • Current Streak: 1 Loss
  • Last Fight: October 08, 2011 in UFC
  • Weight Class: Featherweight | Last Weigh-In: 145.0 lbs
  • Affiliation: Florian Martial Arts Center
  • Height: 5'10" (178cm) | Reach: 74.0" (188cm)
  • Career Disclosed Earnings: $428,000 USD
  • Born: Westwood, Massachusetts, United States
  • Fighting out of: Brookline, Massachusetts
  • Head Coach: Keith Florian
  • Other Coaches: Firas Zahabi
  • Fighter Links:
  • Personal Links:

Responses

kallousklown
kallousklown
  • Predictions:  24,203  |  62.6%
  • Forum Posts:  10,967
  • Post Score: 177