Tapology Forums

What do you train in?

Anonymous Mode

You are not logged in to Tapology. When browsing anonymously, profanities and images are automatically removed from the forum.

RWLawman
RWLawman
  • Predictions:  2,583  |  63.1%
  • Forum Posts:  2,053
  • Post Score: 173

08.14.2011 | 12:10 PM ET

I can't remember if there was a thread made on this topic since I've been around or not.  However, I want to know what (if any) martial arts styles you guys train, or have trained, in.  Also, do you have any competitive experience?  What are your goals? 

I have been training in martial arts for about twelve years in a variety of different systems.  I have a background in aikido, arnis, wing chun, muay thai, Brazilian jiu-jitsu, and boxing.  Currently, I train regularly in muay thai, BJJ, and arnis.  I have a brown sash in wing chun, a blue belt in BJJ.  I've competed in open martial arts tournaments, submission grappling, and amateur MMA.  I also teach defensive tactics to law enforcement in my dept. and the police academy that serves this region.  My goals are to continue to compete in MMA and submission grappling, but also branch out to kickboxing and boxing.  I also want to someday open my own studio, where I hope to teach martial arts to civilians, but also offer special instruction to military and law enforcement.

I'm interested to see what martial arts we have represented here, and also what type of competitive background you guys have.  With a web site like this, I know we've got some students of the game, because the pick percentages floating around are pretty incredible.  That shows some in depth, hands on experience with the fight game. 

" "Out of suffering have emerged the strongest souls; the most massive characters are seared with scars." - Khalil Gibran "

Responses

minotauro11
minotauro11
  • Predictions:  2,483  |  66.5%
  • Forum Posts:  4,493
  • Post Score: 148

08.14.2011 | 2:22 PM ET

Damn, you have an impressive resume.