Tapology Forums

John Danaher: A true martial artist

Anonymous Mode

You are not logged in to Tapology. When browsing anonymously, profanities and images are automatically removed from the forum.

lilspyder
lilspyder
  • Predictions:  32,913  |  62.1%
  • Forum Posts:  288
  • Post Score: 100

02.21.2011 | 10:50 AM ET

So I have a subscription to a great fight magazine called Fighter's Only. It is devoted to mma and promoting mma from all aspects so that it truly does live up to it's standard of being the world's leading mma & lifestyle magazine. This month they had a topic called jedi mma, which was a feature about top trainer's and how they get their fighter's into a right mindset. Now we've all heard about greg jackson, shawn tompkins, and john hackleman, but they also featured a man named john danaher. This guy, if anyone still watches the ultimate fighter, was the jiu jitsu coach for GSP and an assistant coach for him on the show. This man is a genius, and no one truly understands that! He has a Master's Degree in Philosophy from Columbia University (which is no small thing in itself) as well as a black belt under Renzo Gracie. He uses this degree to apply to his teaching of jiu jitsu and states that "a man deeply committed to jiu-jitsu must stand for something. Jiu-jitsu gives a man a set of principles that can govern his overall approach to life" using this and his approach of biomechanics to jiu jitsu I believe that Danaher is a true martial artist and well deserving of way more praise than he gets. Although he does try to stay out of the limelight and was given the nickname Sasquatch by Dave Camarillo for being so elusive to the fame spotlight.

"Never Give Up! These violent delights have violent ends. Amat victoria paratum"

Responses

Kokid951
Kokid951
  • Predictions:  667  |  58.6%
  • Forum Posts:  540
  • Post Score: 213

02.21.2011 | 10:52 AM ET

yea i remember seeing him on tuf he seems like a yoda type lol really smart and calm when he speaks