Topic: Training & Technique

Advice on firing back whilst under pressure.

Anonymous Mode

You are not logged in to Tapology. When browsing anonymously, profanities and images are automatically removed from the forum.

Alex1995
Alex1995
  • Predictions:  0  |  0.0%
  • Forum Posts:  1
  • Post Score: 100

01.09.2018 | 7:39 PM ET

I'm fairly new to MMA. I'd say it's been a good couple months. I've had the Christmas period off. I sparred today and I was getting tagged left right and centre. I don't mind taking a few punches as it helps me learn, however I'm unsure whether I should just walk through shots sometimes or not.

I have a problem of covering up too much under pressure and being unable to fire back my own shots.

I use my range well with teeps, leg kicks and oblique kicks. But I suck at being the aggressor and firing back. 
I'm kinda hesitant whilst stood in front of an opponent in range. 

Any advice? 

Responses

mikeyg
mikeyg
  • Predictions:  7,871  |  66.6%
  • Forum Posts:  6,232
  • Post Score: 113

01.09.2018 | 9:08 PM ET

It kinda depends how old you are, but always avoid head damage as much as possible and spar way less. Going to technique, if you're a natural counter-striker watch guys like Lomachenko if only from a technical standpoint. The way he uses his jab and footwork sets up his shots and he's usually always first even though he's a counter striker and his footwork sets up his defense.

Guys like Lomachenko are suburb defensive fighters, awesome footwork etc, while still being very aggressive himself, especially with a jab. Your goal should be to master the jab and footwork, most don't and from what I've studied in strikers, those are probably the two biggest tools in striking.