Tapology Forums

WHEN/HOW DID YOU START WATCHING MMA?

Anonymous Mode

You are not logged in to Tapology. When browsing anonymously, profanities and images are automatically removed from the forum.

Anik
Anik
  • Predictions:  6,592  |  62.5%
  • Forum Posts:  17,508
  • Post Score: 111

12.29.2011 | 1:07 PM ET

I got into MMA in a very weird way, I was a HUGE pro wrestling fan and I'd listen to a combat sports radio show. The problem was that they'd talk 1h 40 min of MMA and then end the show with 20 minutes of wrestling talk. I was so into wrestling that'd I'd wait through the MMA talk to listen to the MMA talk and I did that for at least 2 years. When someone brought up UFC and GSP (he's huge here), I'd be talking about guys like Gegard Mousasi and Rousimar Palhares (they were the coolest names so they were the easiest to remember) and they'd assume I was a huge MMA fan. But then I'd tell them I've never watched an MMA fight before and they'd be like what the hell.

Eventually I watched some fights but I really started getting into it in the summer of 2010. What really launched me from fan to super fan was the GSP-Kos Ultimate Fighter season.

First MMA fight watched: GSP vs Matt Hughes I
First PPV fight watched (illegally): Shane Carwin vs Brock Lesnar
First full PPV watched: UFC 124
First epic shock: Watching Brock Lesnar look like a ***** against Cain Velasquez
First Live event: hasn't happened :/

"الله أكبرl"

Responses

snowman
snowman
  • Predictions:  20,082  |  61.4%
  • Forum Posts:  270
  • Post Score: 171

12.29.2011 | 1:14 PM ET

i started watchin ufc n other orgs about 6months ago was in to boxin but once i watch ufc with rizla.....i havnt looked back not sure wot i would do with out it now ....lol
wolfmanhowl
wolfmanhowl

12.29.2011 | 1:14 PM ET

UFC number 1. near denver colorado. i remember the kickboxer knocking out the teeth of i think that 600 pound guy. gracie chokes out said kickboxer in finals for either 25,000 or 50,000 dollars.
SoccerKick